Google has confirmed that, starting December 1, it will delete personal Gmail and Google Photos accounts from accounts that the company considers inactive. The bulk deletion will include messages from Gmail, photos from Google Photos, and also files from Google Docs.
Big tech companies sent emails in July warning users not to delete inactive accounts. The message also warned that accounts deemed inactive will receive several email reminders alerting them that action will be taken. Emails were also sent to all registered recovery addresses. This is to prevent infrequent users from losing all archived material.
Could I lose my email?
Considering that according to Google, this measure will be motivated by security reasons and will only apply to inactive personal accounts, it is unlikely that users using the service will lose access.
The emails that will be deleted will be those that have remained inactive for more than two years. In other words, if you read an email via Gmail, stored something in Google Drive, downloaded an app from the Google Play Store, added a photo to Google Photos or did any search on Google while signed in to your account, in the past two years, Your account will remain intact.
Join the Itatiaia channel on Whatsapp and get the main news of the day directly on your cell phone.
Click here and register.
“Incurable thinker. Food aficionado. Subtly charming alcohol scholar. Pop culture advocate.”