Lodi Valley News.com

Complete News World

Arrascaeta, Bruno Henrique and Gabigol could break Zico and Junior's Flamengo record |  Flamingo

Arrascaeta, Bruno Henrique and Gabigol could break Zico and Junior's Flamengo record | Flamingo

The only remnants of the victorious 2019 generation, Arrascaeta, Bruno Henrique and Gabigol, could make more history in… Flamingo In 2024. With the victory of the Campeonato Carioca last Sunday, the trio has reached 12 official club titles, and by the end of the season they will have a chance to equal or even surpass the record set by Zico and Junior, the top two in red. And black idols.

Flamengo beats Nova Iguaçu again to win the 2024 Carioca Championship

The two are popular at the club, belong to the same generation and have each won 13 titles. Zico first turned professional and won the Carioca Championship in 1972 before Junior made his debut in 1974. From that year onwards, together they won the state championships in 1974 and 1978 and the 1979 and 1981 championships, as well as the Brazilian championships in 1980 and 1982. Libertadores and the 1981 Club World Cup.

After a period in Udinese, Italy, Zico returned to… Flamingo He also won two more titles while Junior was playing in Italian football between Torino and Pescara. Galinho was Carioca champion again in 1986 and the Uniao Cup in 1987, and was considered a Brazilian at the time. After that, the left-back returned to Rubro Negro, and while the midfielder had already gone to Kashima Antlers, in Japan, he won three more titles: the 1990 Brazilian Cup, the 1991 Carioca and the 1992 Brazilian Championship.

Zico and Junior with their thumbnails from their time as Flamengo players – Photo: Alexandre Durau/ge

The titles came to crown this friendship that unites us. We see that we are approaching idols Flamingo The ability to excel and go down in history further and further will be forever engraved in the club. We are very happy to give more and more to the club, to win titles, and if God wants to achieve more this year, it is not limited to Carioca only. We feel increasingly united and stronger to be able to achieve the big things we want. “So he has a very high probability of winning,” Bruno Henrique told the club's FlaTV YouTube channel.

Bruno Henrique, Gabigol, Arascaeta, Flamengo – Photo: Disclosure

Three other players have won 12 titles in the red and black, but are no longer at the club: former goalkeeper Cantarelli, former midfielder Diego Ribas, and midfielder Willian Aarão, who currently plays for Greek club Panathinaikos.

Check all addresses of each one:

  • 7 Carioca Championships: 1972, 1974, 1978, 1979, 1979 (private), 1981, 1986;
  • 4 Brazilian Championships: 1980, 1982, 1983 and 1987;
  • 1 Libertadores: 1981;
  • 1 Club World Cup: 1981.

Zico in a match against Liverpool in December 81 – Photo: Photo by Masahide Tomikoshi/Tomikoshi
  • 6 Carioca Championships: 1974, 1978, 1979, 1979 (private), 1981 and 1991;
  • 4 Brazilian Championships: 1980, 1982, 1983 and 1992;
  • Brazilian Cup once: 1990;
  • 1 Libertadores: 1981;
  • 1 Club World Cup: 1981.

Junior while playing with Flamengo in 1992 – Photo: Agência O Globo

Arrascaeta, Bruno Henrique and Gabigol

  • 4 Carioca Championships: 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2024;
  • Two Brazilian championships: 2019 and 2020;
  • 2 Libertadores: 2019 and 2022;
  • Brazilian Cup once: 2022;
  • Copa America once: 2020;
  • 2 Brazilian Super Cup: 2020 and 2021.

Bruno Henrique Gabigol Arrascaeta vs Velez Sarsfield in 2021 – Image: Reuters

Watch: All about Flamingo On GE, on Globo and on Sportif