Lodi Valley News.com

Complete News World

UFC 280 timing: When does Oliveira vs Makhachev start this weekend in UK and US?

UFC 280 time: When does Oliveira vs Makhachev start tonight in UK and US?

Charles Oliveira and Islam Makhachev will square off in a highly anticipated lightweight title fight at UFC 280 on Saturday.

After Khabib Nurmagomedov relinquished the belt following his retirement from fighting in 2020, Oliveira (33-8, 1 no contest) claimed the vacant gold last May before holding it in December. A day before his last defense scheduled for May this year, the Brazilian was stripped of the title for missing weight. Twenty-four hours later, he submitted Justin Cathje anyway to establish himself as the official #1 challenger at 155 pounds.

Meanwhile, Makachev is looking to follow in the footsteps of his childhood friend Khabib, who is now one of his fellow Russian trainers, winning the lightweight belt. Makhachev (22-1) is undefeated in seven years and is seen by many as a lightweight champion in waiting.

In the co-main event, bantamweight champion Aljamine Sterling defends his belt against another former 135lb champion, TJ Dillashaw.

Here’s everything you need to know.

When is that?

UFC 280 will take place on Saturday, October 22 at the Etihad Arena in Abu Dhabi.

The preliminary rounds begin at 3:30 PM BST (8:30 AM PT, 9:30 AM CT, 10:30 AM ET), with the main card continuing at 7:00 PM BST (11:00 AM PT, 1:00 PM ET). PM CT, 2:00 PM ET).

How can I see?

Charles Oliveira was stripped of his UFC lightweight belt in May

(Getty Images)

The card will be streamed live on BT Sport Box Office in the UK at a cost of £19.95.

In the US, ESPN+ will broadcast the action live, as will UFC Fight Pass.

Full card

Key card

Charles Oliveira vs Islam Makhachev (vacant lightweight title)

Aljamine Sterling (L) vs. DJ Dillashaw (bantamweight title)

Peter Yan vs. Sean O’Malley (bantamweight)

Beneil Dariush vs Mateusz Gamrot (Lightweight)

Katelyn Sougajian vs Manon Fiorot (Women’s Flyweight)

Initial

Belal Muhammad vs Sean Brady (Welterweight)

Makhmut Muradov vs Kayo Poralho (Middleweight)

Volkan Ozdemir vs Nikita Krylov (Light Heavyweight)

Abubakar Nurmagomedov vs Khadji Omerkadjiev (Welterweight)

Armen Petrosian vs. AJ Dobson (Middleweight)

Muhammad Mogaev vs Malcolm Gordon (Flyweight)

Carol Rosa vs Lina Lansberg (Women’s Bantamweight)

opportunities

Rising UFC bantamweight star Sean O’Malley

(Getty Images)

Oliveira – 11/8; Makachev – 4/7

Pound Sterling – 4/7; Dillashaw – 7/5

Yan – 04/11; O’Malley – 02/01

Via Betway.

See also  The United States has announced a black LGBT + woman as its new government spokeswoman