Lodi Valley News.com

Complete News World

UFC Fight Night: When does Brian Ortega x Yair Rodriguez start tonight in the UK and US?

UFC Fight Night: When does Brian Ortega x Yair Rodriguez start tonight in the UK and US?

This weekend’s UFC Fight Night should be an intriguing matchup between Brian Ortega and Yair Rodriguez, both looking to stay in contention for the featherweight title.

Ortega (15-2, 1 no contest) last fought back in September when his second golden opportunity ended in defeat – just like his first – when he was bested by American Alexander Volkanovsky.

Meanwhile, Rodriguez (13-3, 1 NC) has yet to challenge for a title, but the Mexican showed potential in a heroic points loss to former champion Max Holloway in November. The dynamic striker said the UFC would guarantee him a title shot if he beats Ortega this Saturday.

Jiu-jitsu specialist Ortega may need a few more wins if he wants to fight for the belt again, having lost to Holloway before losing to Volkanovsky, meaning Saturday’s main event is a crucial fight for the Californian.

Here’s everything you need to know.

When is that?

The event will take place on Saturday, July 16 at the UBS Arena on Long Island.

The preliminary rounds will begin at 4pm BST (8am PT, 10am CT, 11am ET), with the main card continuing at 7pm BST (11am PT, 1pm CT, 2pm ET).

How can I see?

The card will be broadcast live on BT Sport in the UK, with the broadcaster’s app and website streaming the fights.

In the US, ESPN+ will broadcast the action live, as will UFC Fight Pass.

Former UFC featherweight title challenger Brian Ortega

(Getty Images)

opportunities

Ortega – 4/7

Rodriguez – 4/5

Via Betfair.

Full card

Key card

Brian Ortega vs Yair Rodriguez (Featherweight)

Michelle Watterson-Gomez vs Amanda Lemos (Women’s Strawweight)

Li Jingliang vs Muslim Salikov (Welterweight)

Matt Schnell vs Sumudaerji (flyweight)

Shane Burgos vs. Charles Jourdain (Featherweight)

Lauren Murphy vs Miesha Tate (Women’s Flyweight)

Initial

Punahele Soriano vs Dulsa Lungiambula (Middleweight)

Ricky Simon vs Jack Shore (Bantomweight)

Bill Algeo v Herbert Burns (Featherweight)

Dustin Jacoby vs Da-Un Jung (Light Heavyweight)

Dwight Grant v Dustin Stoltzfuss (Middleweight)

Jessica Penne x Emily Ducote (Women’s Strawweight)

See also  According to media reports, the UK Special Forces will be staying in Afghanistan as 'advisers'