Lodi Valley News.com

Complete News World

UFC 278 schedule: When does Usman v Edwards start this weekend in UK and US?

UFC 278 schedule: When does Usman v Edwards start this weekend in UK and US?

Leon Edwards will aim to become a second British UFC champion when he challenges Kamaru Usman in a welterweight rematch in Birmingham this weekend.

Jamaican Edwards was defeated by Usman in 2015 when the Nigerian-American moved up to the title at 170 pounds. The 35-year-old Usman eventually won the belt in 2019 and has since retained it five times in a row, extending his overall winning streak to a remarkable 19 fights.

Last time out, Usman defeated Colby Covington on points to retain gold against the American for the second time. The “Nigerian Nightmare” also recorded two successful defenses against Jorge Masvidal, leading the champion to announce that he was “taking a turn” from the opposition.

A second win over Edwards would take away that point, but the Brit has been in top form, having won nine straight fights since losing to Usman. Most recently, Edwards, 30, outlasted fan favorite Nate Diaz in June 2021 with a dominant performance.

Here’s everything you need to know about UFC 278.

When is that?

UFC 278 takes place on Saturday, August 20 at Vivint Arena in Salk Lake City, Utah.

The preliminaries begin at 11pm BST (3pm PT, 5am CT, 6pm ET), with the preliminaries continuing at 1am BST on Sunday, August 21 (5pm PT, 7pm CT, 8pm ET on Saturday).

The main card starts at 3am BST on Sunday (7pm PT, 9pm CT, 10pm ET on Saturday).

How can I see?

The card will be broadcast live on BT Sport in the UK, with the broadcaster’s app and website streaming the fights.

See also  Infection: According to nature, corona virus infection never ends

In the US, ESPN+ will broadcast the action live, as will UFC Fight Pass.

opportunities

Leon Edwards (right) during his decision win over Nate Diaz

(Getty Images)

Usman – 2/7

Edward – 5/13

Via Betway.

Full card

Key card

Kamaru Usman (c) vs. Leon Edwards 2 (welterweight belt)

Paulo Costa vs Luke Rockhold (Middleweight)

Jose Aldo vs Merab Dvalishvili (bantamweight)

Marcin Tybura vs Alexander Romanov (Heavyweight)

Tyson Pedro vs Harry Hunsucker (Light Heavyweight)

Elementary

Leonardo Santos vs Jared Gordon (Lightweight)

Wu Yanan vs Lucy Budilova (Women’s Bantamweight)

Sean Woodson vs Luis Saldana (Featherweight)

Early previews

AJ Fletcher vs. Ange Luza (Welterweight)

Amir Albasi vs Francisco Figuerido (Flyweight)

Aoriqiling vs Jay Perrin (bantamweight)

Daniel Da Silva vs Victor Altamirano (Flyweight)