Lodi Valley News.com

Complete News World

Sean Penn document about Ukraine for the first time at the festival

Sean Penn document about Ukraine for the first time at the festival

The 73rd edition of the traditional Berlin festival, or Berlinale as it is called, will take place from February 16-26, returning once and for all to the face-to-face format. The films that will participate in the competition have been announced, and the award for Best TV Series has also been established. The event will feature the premiere of the documentary “Superpower”, directed by Sean Penn and Aaron Kaufman about Ukraine.

The Brazilian feature of director Daniel Bandeira will be in Panorama, bringing together productions from around the world to be shown during the German event. Brazil will also have the Franco-Brazilian co-production O Estranho, written by Flora Dias and Juruna Mallon, which will be shown in the Forum section. In addition to two short films, Infantaria, by Laís Santos Araújo, and As Miçangas, directed by Rafaela Camelo and Emanuel Lavor.

The Berlinale will open with the romantic comedy She Came To Me, directed by Rebecca Miller. See below the list of films that will be competing for the main prize, the Golden Bear.

Films competing for the Golden Bear

Bai Ta Ji Guang, directed by Zhang Lu (China)

Bis ans Ende der Nacht by Christoph Hochhausler (Germany)

BlackBerry Matt Johnson (Canada)

Disco Boy, by Giacomo Abruzzo (France/Italy/Poland/Belgium)

Le Grand Chariot by Philippe Jarrel (France / Switzerland)

Ingeborg Bachmann: Reise in die Wüste, by Margarethe von Trotta (Switzerland/Austria/Germany/Luxembourg)

Irgendwann werden wir uns alles Erzählen, by Emily Atef (Germany)

Limbaugh, by Evan Sen (Australia)

Mal Fever, by João Canigo (Portugal/France)

Manodrom by John Trengove (UK/US)

See also  Nurse Louise Fletcher from 'One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest' dies at 88 | pop art

Music by Angela Chanelik (Germany/France/Serbia)

Past Lives by Celine Song (USA)

Roter Himmel by Christian Petzold (Germany)

Sur Adamant, by Nicolas Philibert (France/Japan)

Kindness Remains – Rolf D’Her (Australia)

Suzume, written by Makoto Shinkai (Japan)

Totem, Leila Elisem (Mexico/Denmark/France)

20,000 Species of Bees, by Estibaliz Urresola Solaguren (Spain).