Lodi Valley News.com

Complete News World

Club World Cup 2025: River Plate secures its place in the competition |  Argentine football

Club World Cup 2025: River Plate secures its place in the competition | Argentine football

Learn the details of the new Club World Cup

First place in the CONMEBOL classification in the 2025 World Cup went to River Plate. Now the Argentine team joins the Brazilian clubs that have won the Libertadores title in recent years. Fluminense (2023), Flamingo (2022) and Palm trees (2021) – As a representative of South America.

There are still two places remaining for South America, one through the classification and the other for the 2024 Libertadores champions, unless Fluminense, Flamengo or Palmeiras win the competition. In this case, there will be two positions determined by the CONMEBOL classification.

Nicolas Fonseca and Borja celebrate the second goal in the River Plate x Libertad match – Photograph: Daniel Gayo/Getty Images

Format of the 2025 Club World Cup:

  • It will be held in the United States between June 15 and July 13;
  • Eight groups of four each with one pink team;
  • The best two teams qualify for the round of 16.
  • One match by knockout;
  • There will be no competition for third place.

The 2025 FIFA Club World Cup has a limit of two representatives per country – unless they have a place because they are the continental champions. An example of this is Brazil, which ensured that Palmeiras, Flamengo and Fluminense won the Libertadores title in 2021, 2022 and 2023, respectively. Therefore, no other Brazilian team can qualify through the world rankings, unless they win the Libertadores.

Find out which teams have already qualified for the 2025 Club World Cup:

  1. Palmeiras (Brazil): 2021 Libertadores champion
  2. Flamengo (Brazil): 2022 Libertadores champion
  3. Fluminense (Brazil): 2023 Libertadores champion
  4. Chelsea (England): Champions League 2020/2021
  5. Real Madrid (Spain): Champions League 2021/2022
  6. Manchester City (England): Champions League 2022/2023
  7. Bayern Munich (Germany): via European classification
  8. Borussia Dortmund (Germany): via European classification
  9. Paris Saint-Germain (France): via the European classification
  10. Inter Milan (Italy): via the European classification
  11. Juventus (Italy): via European classification
  12. Porto (Portugal): via Europe classification
  13. Benfica (Portugal): via European classification
  14. Atletico Madrid (Spain): via European classification
  15. RB Salzburg (Austria): via the European classification
  16. Al Hilal (Saudi Arabia): 2021 AFC Champions League champion
  17. Urawa Red Diamonds (Japan): 2022/23 AFC Champions League champion
  18. Al-Ahly (Egypt): Champion of the 2020/2021 CAF Champions League
  19. Wydad Casablanca (Morocco): 2021/2022 CAF Champions League champion
  20. Monterrey (Mexico): 2021 ConcaChampions champion
  21. Seattle Sounders (USA): 2022 Conca Champions League champion
  22. León (Mexico): 2023 ConcaChampions champion
  23. Auckland City (New Zealand): Best-ranked OFC Champions League champion
  24. Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa): via African classification
  25. Esperance (Tunisia): via the African classification
  26. Ulsan (South Korea): via Asia Ranking
  27. River Plate (Argentina): via CONMEBOL classification
See also  FIFA 22 witnessed the fall of Neymar and the rise of Mbappe. See the comparison | FIFA