Lodi Valley News.com

Complete News World

Brazilians win the Eisner Award, the Comics Oscar

Brazilians win the Eisner Award, the Comics Oscar

Brazilians Mike Deodato Jr. And the Video Neste He received the Eisner Award, considered the highest honor in the comics world, on Friday night, 22nd, during Comic Con in San Diego, in the United States.

Not Every Robot, written by Mark Russell of AWA Upshot and Mike Deodato, Jr., won the “Best Comic Publication” category. The work was nominated for “Best New Series,” but ended up losing to The Nice House on the Lake, by James Tynion IV and Álvaro Martínez Bueno, of DC Black Label.

On his Instagram, Deodato recalled an email exchanged with his editor in May 2020, in which he showed confidence in his work. While I loved the script for Not All Robots, I wasn’t sure if it would be able to deliver the humor the series demanded. Thankfully, my friend and editor Axel Alonso had the right and wise words I needed to hear: “You, Mike Deodato, can draw any Something!” I wrote this email shortly afterwards. Since we won an Eisner last night, I guess you could say, “I told you so” now, Axl. [Risos]’, he wrote. In the email in question, his editor wrote to him, “Remember to say ‘I told you so’ when I win an Eisner for this job.”

In the “Best Editing From Another Medium” category, Fido Neste was awarded the George Orwell Prize 1984: Graphic Novel, by Mariner Books. The Brazilian posted a photo of his trophy on Instagram, along with a thank you list. “Wonderful! Very happy and still amazed by what happened last night.”

Also nominated in the “Best Editing From Another Medium” category: John Jennings and David Bramey (after Wren; Megascope/ComicArts), Jordan Morris, Sarah Morgan and Tony Cliff (Bubble; First Second/Macmillan), Hachi Ishie (Disney) Cruella, VIZ Media) and Sophie and Scarlett Rickard (The Ragged Trouseed Philanthropists, SelfMadeHero).

See also  Adele breaks down in tears seeing a widowed fan praising a woman at a concert

Also in the “Best Comic Publication” category: Jordan Morris, Sarah Morgan, Tony Cliff (Bubble; First Second/Macmillan, Aminder Dhaliwal (Cyclopedia Exotica; Drawn & Quarterly), Rick Remender (The Scumbag; Image) and Kat Leyh (Thirsty Mermaids; Gallery 13; Simon and Schuster), Haro Aso, and Kotaro Takata (Zom 100: Dead Bucket List; VIZ Media).